Governing Body


The Five County Treatment & Youth Rehabilitation Center/Detention Center is a county owned and operated facility that opened July 6, 1998 as a 21-bed perimeter secure facility operating under the Balance Approach of Restorative Justice principles providing group protection, accountability, and competency development. In addition to providing safety for the group and the victims of juvenile crime, the Center has committed the bulk of its resources to helping juvenile offenders develop pro-social positive coping skills that can empower them to lead productive, crime-free lives when they return to their home communities.  The Center relocated on August 15, 2003 to a newly constructed 56 bed facility located in St. Anthony, Idaho.  Currently, there are two programs; the first provides juvenile detention services for Fremont, Madison, Teton, Jefferson, and Clark Counties.  The second program is a residential treatment program that focuses on treating juvenile offenders and reintegrating them back into society.


The Center is owned and operated under a Joint Powers Agreement by five counties; Madison, Fremont, Jefferson, Clark and Teton in the state of Idaho. A five-member Facility Board oversees the operation of the Center.  Voting members of the board are one county commissioner from each of the five counties. 

Organizational Structure

MANAGEMENT STRUCTURE: The day-to-day management of the Center is overseen by the Facility Director, and other members of the 5-C management team. The Center/Director's Management Team consists of an Executive Director, Clinical Program Manager, Drug and Alcohol Staff, Detention Clinician/Therapist, Administrative Assistant, a Medical Staff, an Education staff, and (2) staff Supervisor/Case Managers.  Staff supervisors are each responsible for the supervision of designated employees.  Additional staffs are used when circumstances require.